EC directives

EC Product Directives were created by the European Union (EU) to achieve the free movement of goods and services. The directives came about as a result of the Treaty of Rome, 1957. They are intended to remove any barriers to trade across Europe that could be caused by the multiple testing and certification of items and equipment to meet the regulations of individual EU member state markets.

Independent testing, inspection or certification of a product according to a directive must be done by a body that is approved by a government of the community and notified to the European Commission.

LRQA is an approved body and can provide independent certification to the relevant Directives that your business requires to deliver the products and services safely and of an expected standard to your customers.

We are appointed as a Notified Body for many EC Directives, including:

Personal Protective Equipment Directive 89/686/EEC

The Personal Protective Equipment Directive (PPE) is important to you if you design or manufacture personal protective equipment which is covered by the Directive and which is put on the market within the European Economic Area.

Pressure Equipment Directive 2014/68/EU

The Pressure Equipment Directive (PED) 2014/68/EU (previous 97/23/EC) applies to you if you design or manufacture certain types of pressure equipment which is placed on the market within the European Economic Area.

Lifts Directive (LD) 2014/33/EU

The Lifts Directive (LD) 2014/33/EU (previous 95/16/EC) applies to you if you manufacture or install lifts within the European Economic Area.

In Vitro Diagnostic Directive (98/79/EC)

The In Vitro Diagnostic (IVD) Medical Devices Directive introduced for the first time common regulatory requirements within the European Economic Area dealing specifically with the safety, quality and performance of in vitro diagnostic medical devices (IVDs).

ISO 50001 Energy Management System

ISO 50001 is the international energy management system (EnMS) standard. It is the first global EnMS following from a range of national and regional standards such as EN 16001.